Sign in to follow this  

Oil Change

going to do my first oil change on my bike today. i will be runing the klotz full synthetic 10w40. i have been runing this in my street bike for two years. also they gentleman who said that the rmz 250 and rmz 450 oil filters are the same, is absolutly right. i got mine in today and calipered them up and they are exacltly the same. :cry:

The dimensions may be the same but the flow rate/material could be different. A Suzuki factory guy told me not to use the 250 unit in the 450.

The 450 filters should be out at dealers today/Monday I would think.

Remember Suzuki designed the RMZ250... The oil filters are identical size to the RMZ250 ones, just a different part number. Kawasaki manufactures the 250 and has the oil filters produced for them with their part number. Suzuki sell all the 250 parts using kawasaki part numbers but they add a "K" to the front of the number. Highly unlikely the material or flow rate is any different. Just about all Suzuki street bikes including most of their ATV's use the same oil filter. It is exactly that, an oil filter.. Flow rate is determined by the oil pump and rpm.

my dealer called today & said the 450 filters are in , so i go we put a250 next to a 450 they look identical on the outside but on the inside , that piece of metal inside one was deeper in , than the other , 450 price was 4 dollars more but thats life , we want to ride the big bad boy so better safe than sorry , i'll pay the extra & keep churning up the ground , matter of fact i,m loaded now , pulling out at 6:00 am going to be 67 here tomorrow.............

The dealer i spoke to said the rmz/kxf 250 was completely designed by kawi and the 450 is suzuki's own project???

...better safe than sorry...

Exactly.

Unfortunately I dropped $60 on a stainless unit cause I paniced over the filter shortage last week. Guess it will pay off in the long run...