Sign in to follow this  

oil change schedule

I'm new to the sport and want to make sure I'm changing my oil and filter often enough. I have a stock '01 250F and currently change my oil after ever 3 rides, and the filter after every 6. However, I'm confused about what actually constitutes 1 ride. If I go out for 2-3 hours, is that considered "1 ride", and should it be factored into my oil change schedule a so? When I ride, I spend equal amounts of time on the trail and track and currently use Yamalube 10-40 and Yamaha filters. Should I be on an hourly schedule instead? Any input would be appreciated.

Thanks

you should change oil every ride if u go like down the street its not a ride anything more then an hour of riding i would change it and get the stainless steal oil filter and then u just clean that everyride must easy and flows better too

I would go to a high quality synthetic oil for the added protection.

It's tough figuring it out when you ride trails. Yamaha says every 1000km, or about every 600 miles. That's WAY too long.

For serious racing, change it after every race.

For pure trails, I change mine every 100-130 miles or so, which is about 3-5 hours.

I change my oil every 2 rides and filter every 4 unless I put 100 miles or so on it. If the trails were nasty and I rev'd the $hit out of the bike that day then I'll change the oil and replace/clean filter.

get the stainless steal oil filter and then u just clean that everyride must easy and flows better too

I'll second that. If you change your filter as often as you should the cost of the yamaha filters adds up, depending on ride frequency of course. I use a Scotts SS filter.

i change mine every 3 rides and the filter every other oil change.I just purchased a stainless steel oil filter ind in the long run they are definently worth it.I ride mostly trails, some track but if i raced competitively i would have to agree with wheelsup and say to change it every race. :cry: