Sign in to follow this  

more throttle or guts?

Let me first say that i'm a beginner at 35 years old and quite abit out of shape with a brand new yz 450f. While practicing at the local track I have realized that alot has changed in the 20 years since my high school Suzuki dr 100 and my college Suzuki 600 katana in 1990. Along with being out of shape and lack of experience, I still have that competative gene in me that wants more everytime I approach that large double or table but realize that I don't have the ability to gun it or have the guts to clear that jump. It's possible for me to somewhat keep up with some others prior to the technical stuff but I find myself slowing down at the approach. To date I can make that very small table and land on the down side of it but anything larger is just intimadating. I also have that family to worry about if I was to get hurt! My main worry is that I will gun it and have poor form while in the air and crash bad or land on top of the double (case it?) and get bucked off and so on. If I am able to make that small table with decent form, is more throttle and guts the answer to the larger technical stuff. Also, I think that I need more seat time to get used to the bike?

Practice on table tops. They are very forgiving and safe.

Make sure that with your 450 you keep on the throttle ALL the way up and off the jump. Go off a few small one until you can gain your rythem back.

Also remember if better to over shoot than under, so when in doubt either stop or gun it. Hesistation is very bad.

So just work on gaining your confidence and don't push yourself to hard at first.

hope i helped!