Sign in to follow this  

More dirt oriented tires for DRZ S

Please bear with me ... I'm new here just registered today and I'm also new to the drz .. not new to bikes but I just bought a left over '03 drz s this week!. I know this question has probably been asked a million times but how do you find tires to fit the drz that are aggressive enough for serious dirt riding but are dot rated? Please let me know what the experts here are running and what size they are. I would really like your help on this. I was looking at some threads the other day and thought i saw a tire manufacturer in Louisiana talked about but i can't remember who they were. Again i apologize if this question is asked to a point of boring everyone but I truly need so ideas here. Thanks !

I started out with Dunlop D606 front and rear but didn't like the feel on gravel roads and have sense switched to a Pirelli MT21 rear 120/90. I think I am going to try a MT21 on the front and maybe switch to something else for the rear I would like to try a larger tire but I am unsure of what brand. :cry:

I do like the MT21 Rear but just want to try something else.

Tim

I have used Kenda track masters k760. The rear is fine for almost any terrain that I encounter, the front is a bit vague feeling in the wet stuff.

I am now using Michelin AC10's. Waiting for the snow to melt before I have a good opinion on them. They are 2x as expensive than the Kenda's.

I hope they are twice as good.

Kenda Trackmaster II's (760's) are really good DOT rated tires (low priced as well). The rear has awesome hookup and the front is good for most anything except deep mud/sand :cry:

Thanks for info so far .... but don't you find it hard to find the right size? Like the Pirelli MT 21's I don't see a 80/100 listed. Do you guys substitute sizes and if so what do you use?? Can't wait for the snow to be gone here too .... come on spring!

Greg

I find the 100's a bit narrow, so I use 120's.