Sign in to follow this  

How Dangerous

Hey guys,

this is such a great forum. I want to ask a general question since I am new to dirtbiking and just put a deposit down on a bike.

Just how dangerous is this sport? I plan on riding trails out in the CA desert and plan to get all the equipment: boots, gloves, helmet, neck brace, kidney guard, elbow guards, chest protector,.. etc. I'm not a crazy risk taker but as with anything, the better you get, the more chances you end up taking. I just don't want to go out there and hurt my back or something and become a burden to my family. Biking is just such a rush and I'm already addicted, there may be no turning back. Thanks

:cry:

Yes it is dangerous and so is snowboarding, water skiing, bicycles, hunting, driving a car and a lot of other activities. Stay in your house or go out and have fun just respect what you are doing never take your eye off the ball or it will hit you.

I totally agree. Of course I'm a beginner and this is probably not a good question, but I plan on riding conservatively(live to ride another day is my motto). How many bad accidents have you heard of/ witnessed in your experiences with riding?

In the two plus years I've been riding, the worse I've had was a big scrape on my arm. I've had some nasty get offs too, at 30+ mph. But the other day we were snowboarding, and my brother landed wrong on a ramp from maybe 2 feet up and broke his arm.

My neighbors dad fell over from basically a standstill and broke his ankle.

Its a risk we all take. Statistically driving your car is probably more dangerous.

Yes it is dangerous and so is snowboarding, water skiing, bicycles, hunting, driving a car and a lot of other activities. Stay in your house or go out and have fun just respect what you are doing never take your eye off the ball or it will hit you.