Sign in to follow this  

MotoX Jerseys - Style over Function?

So I'm just getting into dirt riding, after only riding and racing on the pavement for years... and looking at the gear for off-roading it seems to be alot of style and very little protection. Is this true? or is there something about the thin, flimsy motocross jerseys that I'm missing?

Some of the pants seem like they would give you some pretty good abrasion protection should you hit the ground. But the jerseys? Feels to me like a good heavy flannel shirt might do more for ya.

Am I missing something?

Am I just looking for too much protection? (coming from the world where a full one peice leather suit is the standard)

Is the dirt just not that abrasive when you fall?

Are you "supposed" to wear something else over the top of the jersey to protect you? A chest protector? (even these look loke they would rip off in a serious fall).

are the crashes on the dirt of such a radiacally different dynamic that you dont have to worry about sliding along the ground?

all serious qestions. Not trying to stir the pot .

Heck, the way I look at it, I'm getting ready to wear my Vanson full perf leather jacket when I ride on the dirt. I dont care if it makes me look like a dork (well, that wouldnt be tooo hard to do :cry:).

The design is for cool air. Riding with a leather jacket in FL will drain you in a hurry! Much less, any state in the summer. Be a man, face the facts. I rather have a cool breeze than suffocate. This isn't roadracing, I sweat enough in my race roadrace suit, imagine what you'd do with MotoX

yeah, the jerseys are made more to allow cooling. plus in the dirt you generally don't slide like you would on pavement. with all the jumping, rocks, trees, etc you need more protection from impacts rather than sliding.