Sign in to follow this  

Used DRZ, what to look for?

Since you guys are the experts, I'm in the market for a used dirt bike and have narrowed my choices down to the following: DRZ400E, XR400, and a 250EXC(2s). Hey I'm buying used so I'm need a few options, but I think the DRZ is my first choice...

I'm hoping to find a good 2002 or 2003 model, so what do I need to look for as I look at potential DRZ? I'm new to this, so a general list of what to look for and how to inspect a used DRZ is what I'm looking for.

Thanks!

radiators conditions, leaky block, leaky shocks, break pad and the metal whell they are locking on, as far as power - when you pull the throtle hard it needs to get into a slight "screary" feeling, chain and more

The 2000S and maybe the 2001S has a different suspension than current bikes. 2002 and after all have the "good" suspension. I have a 2000S but lots of mods even in the suspension. I would look over any bike to see how hard it's been used...Stored inside? Mods done? Does it still have the ACCT or did someone have sense enough to install a MCCT from Bitech Machine?...If it was raced or jumped I'd steer clear...Some are used / cared for with care...some are not. Use your head, your eyes and ask lots of questions.

Good luck and you can't go wrong with the DR-Z in my opinion! :)

Just wanted to let you know that I went from a very nice 1998 XR400 to a 2001 DRZ400E and feel it was one of the best upgrades I have even done. I rode the XR one day and the DRZ the next and there is no way you can compare these two bike on trails or wide open spaces.

The XR was bulletproof and if that is your main concern, get one. On the other hand, if you want a versatile and much faster/powerful bike, get the DRZ.

I like to buy my bikes stock and then make changes to fit my needs because usually when a bike has a pipe and jetting and a bunch of other modifications it has usually been ridden harder.

Good luck!