Sign in to follow this  

Got the WR250F . . . Now What?

Kudos to everyone on this forum that has provided feedback to help me make my choice to buy the new 05 WR250F. I will be picking the bike up from the dealer next week and have a few questions that a few people can answer (I hope).

Can the dealer do the mods that most people often do for the WR or would it void warranty? I definitely could do them myself but I was curious if anyone has had the dealer do mods, especially the WR throttle stop replacement with a YZ throttle stop.

After doing the mods, what else do you recommend for enhancements / protection? Should I add a skid plate and rad guards before hitting the trails?Since I'm new to riding, I'm sure I'll hit the trails (no pun intended) often.

Thanks again to eveyone on the forum helping us newbies out!!

Warranty is only 30 days. If the bike runs and stops and nothing falls off, that's all that matters.

The only part of the warranty that may be voided by law are things directly affected by aftermarket mods (look up Magnusson/Moss). If your engine throws the rod, sucks a valve, or grenades the tranny, that is not impacted by the free mods and would still be covered.

The suspension in no way would be affected. Basically, the only thing the free mods affect directly would be the grey wire's affect on the CDI. If the CDI fails, they could reject a claim on that.

The mods take two hours max if you don't know what you're doing, and the second bike will take a half hour.

I wouldn't trust the dealer to change the oil unless you are personal friends with the mechanic. I've had too many vehicles worked on that I've had to "fix" soon after. Toyota dealer left my radiator cap off after changing an exhaust manifold. Private garage left an exhaust bracket loose after doing the clutch. My Fords were endless problems. Took one in for a timing belt change and $500 later it came out with a leaking water pump.