Sign in to follow this  

Best Year For The CRF450?

Hey guys I'm new here. I'm looking to buy a used or possibly even new CRF450 in the near future. Most of the riding I'll be doing will be in the desert. Something I have noticed is in So. Cal. a used one that is almost any year goes for $4,200 to $4,500 with basic mods. A new one can be had for $6,700. These bikes hold their value really well in Cali. Do you guys have any suggestions on what year used one to get? Anything I should look out for?

Since they came out in 02 they have gotten better each year, but with a few mods any year CRF450 is an awesome machine!

My 05 CRF 450 is so much better than my 02,it scares me ,if you don't stay ahead of it the 05 will hurt you.

My 05 CRF 450 is so much better than my 02,it scares me ,if you don't stay ahead of it the 05 will hurt you.

I've heard the 05's are faster but I'm new to riding dirt and sand so I'm not to worried about going fast. The bike is going to spend a lot of time on it's side so I don't know if I want learn on a brand spanking new bike.

Hey guys I'm new here. I'm looking to buy a used or possibly even new CRF450 in the near future. Most of the riding I'll be doing will be in the desert. Something I have noticed is in So. Cal. a used one that is almost any year goes for $4,200 to $4,500 with basic mods. A new one can be had for $6,700. These bikes hold their value really well in Cali. Do you guys have any suggestions on what year used one to get? Anything I should look out for?

The best year is 2002 with a couple mods (2003+ linkage, 03+ air box, 02 cam is the best for desert). The reason I say 2002 is the best year? Because 2002 is the only year GREEN stickered in California! :)

I just looked at a clean 02 for $4,000. The green sticker is a plus for sure in Cali. I might go grab that bike tomorrow then it's off to Ocotillo for the learning experience.

I really like the way you put it.... :):)