Sign in to follow this  

Smoking oil and antifreeze

I've been riding this rm-z250 for about 6 months. I ride mostly trails and stuff, haven't been riding it too hard. Been taking care of it, changing the oil and filter regularly. It started smoking several weeks ago and it smelled like antifreeze. Due to the well known design flaw of the single water cover / oil cover I replaced the cover with a Pro Circuit two piece. I also replaced the gasket. Since that time the problem went away but returned the last time I was out. It seems the problem is with the separation of oil and antifreeze around this area but would like to know if anyone else has had this problem or if anyone thinks the smoke could be caused by anything else.

Maybe the gasket on the water pump cover is not in the groove perfectly and allowing antifreeze to get into the oil. I have never had this problem, but youmight try getting a new gasket.

I doubt antifreeze can get in the oil at the filter area. The oil is under pressure at the filter. It would have to happen when the bike wasn't running and the cooling system still had pressure from being hot. But, a passage allowing this to happen would allow oil to get in the coolant when the bike was running. This bike also has a water pump seal and an oil seal on the pump shaft with a weep hole in between so unless that hole is stopped up the 2 fluids can't mingle there either.

More likely you have a blown head gasket or possibly a cracked head, especially since you ride woods alot. Make sure to also check for a warped head when it's apart. The other place to look is the pipe plug located in the bottom of the hole beside the spark plug hole. It is visible with the valve cover off and is used to plug a casting hole. It takes an allen wrench to remove it. Possibly it just got loose as it is steel and the head is aluminum which expands at a different rate.