Shifting in air for greater effect

I try to fly nose-down so I can land with the throttle wide open. Once in a while, I over do it. In that almost endo situation, I've found that shifting up another gear before panic revving gives a much greater effect on the attitude of the bike. That surprised me because I haven't seen that mentioned in any how-to videos or books. Play with it and see. It works. Thank you, that'll be .50 cents!

thanks dude, ill try endoing for the hell of it and see if it works... On my brothers bike of course..... hehehehe

Of course I'm not suggesting you go out and endo on purpose. I'm just saying that if you rev the bike after shifting up, it'll bring the nose up more than if you hadn't. That just may keep you FROM endoing some day, and that's a pretty good thing!

I started playing with the technique after I found it by accident one night at the track. I would hit the jump and rev the bike to bring the front end up. Then, I'd hit the jump again and shift up first, then rev the bike. That gave a much bigger response.

When I accidentally flew with the nose TOO low, I would rev, shift, rev to land on the gas and still ready to attack upon landing. That was a pretty exciting discovery for me.

It's just another tool to help control the bike. Controlling the bike is where the safety, confidence, and ultimately, speed comes from.

Up shifting is just allowing the back tire to spin faster which in turn causes the front wheel to come up slightly faster. If you think this will make you faster in the long run your not thinking this through. When you land you will be a gear higher than the guys around you and the bike won't pull on the landing, in fact it will probably bog on a full throttle landing causing you to crash over the bars anyway. If you truly want to go faster learn how to jump properly, work on your body position on take off instead of new fangled ways to try and hurt yourself.

This was your statement