Rhino Rally

Is anyone going down next week for the RR?

I've never done it before...any info on the course, distance, etc? I've ridden some cool terrain down there but also some whooped out nastiness (think Knolls). All feedback is welcome.

-Phil

Is anyone going down next week for the RR?

I've never done it before...any info on the course, distance, etc? I've ridden some cool terrain down there but also some whooped out nastiness (think Knolls). All feedback is welcome.

-Phil

I'm going. The race is great! 1 - 50 mile loop for the novice, out-of-shape, old farts :p makes it an enjoyable race. The second loop is usually about 25-30 miles and more difficult (so I hear).

The course depends on the weather. They have to have an alternate course in case there might be too much rain (happened last year).

Usually, you get all kinds of terrain, lots of washes, rocky trails, some whoops. Sometimes the second loop goes over the "back breakers", about 12 miles of deep, soft sandy whoops. :) . The course covers most of the area south of sand hollow in the Warner Valley / Fort Pierce area and south. Some on private property. Nothing real technical, although I've seen some novices get stuck on some very easy hills. :)

Last year was too wet, so they sent us up around Sand Hollow and thru the back breakers. It wasn't a popular course. We might see that course again this year if it rains hard just before the race.

I really need to try this. It seems to be one of the best desert like races for new guys like me. What are the dates?

mx

The race is the last weekend in February. I'm going down and my son will be doing his first desert race on his 65. He's totally excited and so am I. It's not likely that I'll race (too nervous for my son), but I've done the Rhino Rally once (back in 2001) in the same area and had a great time.

I really need to try this. It seems to be one of the best desert like races for new guys like me. What are the dates?

mx