Sign in to follow this  

Tabs for dirt bikes in NC?

Since I am new to NC, I don't know how it works over here. I called a few dealers to get some prices on bikes and I was told dirtbikes do not have a title and do not have tabs like your car. On the West coast dirt bikes are regulated similar to cars where the DMV issues a title and they give you a sticker with numbers on it, and thats basically your license plate. Then you pay each year to get a new year sticker just like the car. Thats offroad only, not talking street legal here. If a ranger or sheriff catches you on public land like the national or state forests without current tabs (month and year sticker), they ticket you. So in NC, how does it work?

Also I got a $6000 out the door price for an 05 KX250F. You think thats good for around here? Probably 10% off on gear but thats it, not throwing in a helmet or anything. I guess that is list of 5600 + 400 sales tax and no setup or any other fee crap, so it's a reasonable deal I suppose, can't get around the 400 tax. I hear of better prices sometimes but wonder if they are realistic or deals to repeat customers, or people are not including the sales tax in their figures.

Exhaust question now. If I get an mx bike it will be loud and not have spark arrestor. You guys going to Brushy and Brown mtn, do I have to get a new exhaust before I can ride there? Where can I ride legally stock to break it in, and give myself time to research exhausts a bit more.