I need help

I know this has been beat to death, and I have read so many topics on here and ktmtalk that my head is spinning. Background; I have been riding for three years now. I currently ride a wr250f. I ride Stoneyford, Foresthill, Moonrocks, and a few other spots. I have a lined up two bikes that I can buy in the next day or two both very close to where I am at. The one guy has a 525 mxc the other the exc. Shortly after I started riding I bought a CRF450 thinking I did not want to ride my 250 any more. Well for riding the trails I like and probably my ability, the CRF was way too high strung. My ?'s are will the MXC seem high strung as well? Will it have the compression braking that I am sure the EXC will have? Can it be geared low enough from serious crawling? I like the idea of not shifting nearly as much with the MXC. I have never rode either bike and I am 6'2" 240lbs so I am sure the power won't be too overwhelming except maybe at first coming off of my current ride.

Side note, the MXC is an '04 with a tall seat and IMS tank very clean for $5500. The EXC is an '03 with 980 original miles and a tall seat as well for $5400 and I have not seen pics.

Thanks in advance.