Dual sports ignored by traffic lights?

I've been street riding for a few years now, but I am new to riding a DS on the street. Yesterday was the first day I was skipped by a traffic signal while waiting to cross an intersection. I just cursed to myself and quickly changed my intentions to a right turn. ?

I know all about the sensors and the embedded wires in the pavement. On my street bike, I usually just slowly roll over the center wire and park it on the spot where the wires "T" off to form the box. Works every time.

But I have a feeling that dual sports have too much ground clearance to trip these electromagnetic type sensors. And I guess the wheels don't have enough metal in them to help much either? ?

Anyone else have the same problem, or was it just bad luck for me?

I have heard that if you stop in the spot you described and shut off the bike and re-start it using your e-start (if you have that) that might trigger the sensors. Another option is to get a magnet and glue it to the bottom of the frame or skidplate. I saw an add once in Cycle News with the magnet and it talked about how it would trigger most signals.

It is actually legal in CA if the light passes you 2 times you can proceed as if there was no green arrow and just a green light. I know all the traffic lights in town that don't pick me up and I usually just avoid them, otherwise I come raring up to them and a slam on the brake almost doing a nose wheelie, never tried shutting it off and starting it up though. Have to try it.

Hmm, the starter idea almost sounds believable...might have to give it a try next time.

I'll also have to look into my local laws about going on a red if you get skipped...I like that one too. I guess some laws in CA aren't so bad; you guys get to lane split don't you? That needs to be legal in more states. Then you can let the cars up ahead trip the signal and still be first off every light!