Sign in to follow this  

Riding 101

I have just started riding a Dirt bike. I have been riding Quads and sportbikes for several years so, this is all new. Since I have been riding the others I have not had to deal with the odd fealing of a floating bike underneath me. I have a KTM 450 SX. I have read several postes on the front tire washing out. I read a tech article that stated to sit on the gas tank if you can get that far forward. Should I be sitting as far forward as the family jewels will let me or should I be sitting somewhat comfortable.

Another question I have is on seat bounce, a on going question. I have read the posts but, on a quad you push down on the pegs during the jump and get a pre-load on the shocks can this be done on a bike? If you can think of any other tips that would help a new rider on anything that might have bothered you as a new rider would be appreciated. Looking through a corner, standing in long corners, doubling woops, just not looking like a newby on the track, etc.

That is a very hard feeling to get used to. I still dont like it. If youve had the bike in the trails, you'll notice that youll sit on the very front of the sead, the jewels sitting on the tank. Hurts pretty bad if you get jared, but thats where you go naturaly. This is the position you want in your turns. Just on the tank, but to the outside side of the seat. Push the tank down with your knee, this will in turn make you push on the outside peg. Roll the throttle and keep your body upright. The rest is second nature. Oh... and dont hang onto the handle bars.

Seat bouncing is NOT for begginers!

Yes, you want to be as far on the gas tank as you can. Also make sure you have proper spring weights and proper sag. This will help greatly with washing out. As for the bike floating around, you just have to get used to it and trust it :)