Sign in to follow this  

New 04 w/ tranny trouble

I have an 04 RMZ250 that was purchased new in DEC04 off the showroom floor. Today I had my 1st problem which might turn out to be a pretty big one.

I am having trouble with the shifter getting jammed and not letting me downshift or shift up. I first noticed it today while riding it got stuck in fourth gear and it wouldn't downshift so I rode it back to truck. After letting it sit and saying a few choice words I decided to try to get to neutral, which I did. Then I fired it back up and rode through a pasture beside track and it shifted but it seemed to be catchy. While returning to truck it would not down shift again so I decided to try to shift up to 4th but it wouldn't do that either. I have played with it off and on hear at the house and the problem seems to come and go but I am not sure what is happening.

I have not forced anything and there are no obvious external reasons for the problem. I am new to 4smokes so any help would be appreciated. It is very frustrating to have a bike that is 3mo old and to have tranny probs already. :)

Thanks

A friend had the same problem and the tranny went a few weeks later. Suzuki covered it and put a new one in. You will have to get the dealer to try and convince them that it is a defect though. Also keep a good check on those valves. Mine blew apart last sunday.

tranny problems occur often in these bikes with dirty oil. Mine starts to shift funny after about 3 hours on the oil, so change the oil frequentyly, and since it's new, take it to the dealership and get it fixed under warrenty now before it messed some bad stuff up.

I have changed the oil after every ride and I change the filter every other ride. I am not so sure that there is a warranty on these bikes but I will find out Tues. when the dealership opens back up. Thanks for the info though