Sign in to follow this  

Upgrade from XR400R

Just a question which has probably been asked time and time again...

I am thinking of replacing my 97 XR400R. Why ???? :) I ride a lot of tight trails and rocky hills. I am finding the XR heavy (especially when it's lying on it side halfway up a hill :p )

What would be a good upgrade ??? I was actually considering (dare I say it :) ) going to a 250/300 2 stroke, which would be lighter and easier to throw around (and pick up !) or would a new 4 stroke be a smarter purchase.

Any suggestion any could offer would be very much appreciated.

Thanks ! :D

Well, I had to pick up my 250 sx about 6 times yesterday on some steep hills and it's nice to kick once and off you go. It's definately a different kind of riding... My friend has a 300 exc and it is a better trail bike than my 250sx but my bike does well also.

Six times... Glad I'm not the only one ! :)

Thanks for you post.

I'm no expert, but I think a fourstroke is better for trails. I think fourstrokes offer better throttle contol. I think 250s are better for tight singletrack and 450s better for hills, but your weight and agressiveness are factors also. :)

The Yamaha YZ250F (I think) and Honda CRF250X are pretty nice bikes these days. They're both 4strokes, feel light and great for tight trails. Honda has a new CRF450X but I hear it isn't much lighter than the XR400.

It really depends on how you want to ride. Three friends have gone from the XR650R and XR400R to the KTM300 EXC and love the bike. I've thought of getting a YZ250F for something different. The Honda CRF250X is a ton lighter.

It really depends on how you want to ride. Three friends have gone from the XR650R and XR400R to the KTM300 EXC and love the bike. I've thought of getting a YZ250F for something different. The Honda CRF250X is a ton lighter.

Did your friends fine the transition from the xr to 300 easy ???