Sign in to follow this  

I need to fix up my bike.

Hi, im a newb to tt and i have a problem. I cant afford a new dirtbike. There sooo expensive and my parents dont have credit on there life. I got my first dirtbike about 2 years ago which is a 1993 Xr100. It was rusty and old. I bought it for 700 bucks. I am 5'8 14 M and 170 lbs. Its way to small for me. I feel soo bad. These are the upgrades that ive done. Big gun exhaust system, big gun rev box, sun star front and rear top end sprokets, rk racing chain, Ngk hot plug, uni preformance filter, bbr rear spring, n-style stickers, #28, dunlop matching tire set, ebc rear brakes, and a seat cover. :) My bike hauls balls for an xr100. my parents clocked me at 60 mph. Now, my bike is even smaller for me and i am sooo jelouse of the new bikes. COuld someone please have sympothy for me, and tell me that a small bike is ok? Or that i can do more stuff to it to make it better? or that i shouldent be jelouse. Please someone make me feel better. Sorry for all the complaining. :)

I'm 5'11", and used to haul around quite happily on an XR100, and an XR80. They'd both happily run me through the woods, and up the sides of pit walls. The only times I felt like I was on the wrong bike was trying MX style single tracks or trying to drag race 250 two smokes. With the suspension work you've done, the MX whoops/etc shouldn't be an issue.

In short, I wouldn't knock the 100. 90% of riding fast is rider skill, not the bike. Learn to use it as an extension of yourself, and you'll be amazed at what it'll run with.

wow, thanks, thats a great reply. any more good ones? plus i have a problem. my new shock in the back seems to back a sqeaky noise when i go up and down, like on whoops. it makes that squeaky bed sound. :) i feel so ebarrassed that im flying down some whoops, eee owww eeee owww. Any ideas why?