Sign in to follow this  

Downsizing?

About a year ago, I bought a brand new '04 WR450. It's my first bike since my old XL600 dual sport I had about 10 years ago. As soon as I started riding the first trail on my WR, I thought that I might be a little over my head with a bike that big and powerful. I bought the bigger bike thinking that it would be something that I could grow into but now I'm having second thoughts.

About a year and 300 miles later, I'm thinking I might downsize to the WR250. My riding buddy has a CRF250 and we trade bikes on occasion. It's really refreshing to ride a bike I can throw around rather than dealing with a 250 lb trail whale. His CRF250 seems to have almost as much power as my WR450 (uncorked) but it's just delivered smoother.

I'm a pretty big boy so I'm a little leery of trading in on a smaller bike - I'm about 6' / 270lbs. I'm sure that I'd have to do some suspension setup on a WR250 to handle my fat butt. :)

How does a WR250 (uncorked) compare to a CRF250 in terms of power? By riding my friend's unmodified CRF250 am I getting a good feel of a typical 250 four stroke powerplant?

Does anyone have any other thoughts about this?