Sign in to follow this  

bike suggestions?

Ok, I've been trying to resolve this issue for some time, and I've done alot of research. I'm trying to decide which bike is going to maximize my fun factor, give me the best speed, least amout of hassles, etc. I'm basically a novice racer and an intermediate rider, although I've been riding most of my life. I'm 36, weigh 155 pounds, and I'm 6' tall. Currently I'm riding a '99 YZ400F. I just joined a motocross club and I'm going to race in the vet beginner class, as well as I'm going to race some off-road races, also in the vet beginner class. I think the only way to really know what bike is going to achieve all my goals is to buy one, try it for a season, try another one, etc...but I want to try to get it right the first time.

I really enjoy the YZ400F, although the weight, the engine braking, and the maintenance intervals bother me. I'm looking at an '03 or newer CRF450R or an '03 or newer YZ250. Lately, people have pointed me towards a YZ250F. With the 2-stroke, I like the fact there is no engine braking, the weight is low, and the maintenance is cheap and easy. What scares me is the powerband is going to be too much for me to handle as a novice racer, both mx and off road. I like the thumpers for the power and ability to just roll the throttle on and not have to be shifting all the time, but they are heavier, more expensive, and require more diligent maintenance and cost of operation than a 2-stroke. Then if I do go with a thumper, would a 250f be better than a 450f for my particular situation due to less power to have to manage at my skill level? Any ideas or things that I'm not seeing?