Sign in to follow this  

rear shock on my 04

Hi. Just got a '04 in great condition and I'm very happy with it.

The suspension feels great. But I have a little problem on breaking bumps, and in one part of my track in particular. When I enter at speed it catches the rear and throws the back up, brakey style or me-go-over-the-handlebar style. I'm so happy with the suspension (except at this one point of course) that I don't want to do much to it at all.

I'm not good with suspension but think that It could be helped if I allow a slightly quicker rebound. It feels like it could be that the shock is compressed and on hitting the next braking bump a few feet on, the shock has not had time to extend so it's hitting further down the stroke of the shock then it would normally do on the other single bumps that feel so great when they are taken one at a time.

Does this make sense? Am I on the right track? And is there a high speed setting on the rear shock. Should I leave that alone ?

edit: I did the same track on a nice 03 yz250 which felt bumpier the whole way around and was not noticably better on the rough section. I was impressed with the sheer speed of the yz though !

How does the bike feel on jumps? Is your technique correct? These may not be the problem, but it's worth asking. Suspension-wise, you don't want to quicken or lighten the rebound damping, you want to increase it. That means turning in the clikcer; just do it two clicks at a time. If the bike feels like it's kicking off of jump faces, combine that with what you're describing, and you know the rebound is too quick as it is.

Hope that helps.

First, you need to be sure that you have fresh fluids in both ends. Old shock oil will do you no good. I tell a ton of people this and they look at me funny. But, you will never ever get any type of baseline unless you have fresh fluids.