Sign in to follow this  

Opinion Needed . 05 CRF250r or 05 CR125R

I know most are partial to the CRF and i cant blame you (bike of the year 2 years running and all)..but.... I am a beginner (over 30 rider) . I do not race . I just ride with my son on a local track for fun up to 2 times a week. I am concerned with the problems i am hearing with 4 strokes as well as the maintenance costs. If i am not a racer but love to ride alot, Should i save money and go with the Cr125 or spend the extra on the CRF. I can see the benefits of the CRF for racing but is it worth the extra expense and maintenance costs just for the recreational rider? Many thanks for your opinions

I got slammed on a previous post because I mentioned some negative comments about the 4-strokes.

http://www.thumpertalk.com/forum/showthread.php?t=227211

But in your case, I would recommend that a 4-stroke like the CRf250R is a good buy. Since you willl be riding trails, lugging around on a 4stroke is better than a 2-stroke. You don't have to worry about the clutch too much and more on riding.

I'd say ....go for the CRF250R.

Don't worry about the reliability. I had an 02 CRF450R and had more than 150 hours before having to replace my intake valves. Once I installed the aftermarket valves, I never had to adjust the valves again until I sold it 6 months ago.....

I honestly think that if your going to get a 2 smoke dont go with a 125, IMO they are harder to ride. *IF* you do go with a 2 stroke I would look into something like a KTM 200 or the newer CR250 they are supposed to be torquey. Peronally I loved the YZ 250 with a FMF Gnarly pipe and flywheel weights. :)

*IF* you do go with a 2 stroke I would look into something like a newer CR250 they are supposed to be torquey.