Sign in to follow this  

MX tracks and the people who ride them?

I have a question for you guy's who ride mx track's? I have been riding bikes for over 25 years, and never raced on a track (sad I know), I used to do some desert racing when I lived in so-cal, and have rode allot of trails both there and here (washington), I have rode allot of "home made" tracks, and have done a few practice laps on a few tracks just for fun. I don't go to the 20.00$ ride on a track day, now because well...I am old and too scared to get hurt (bills to pay you know). I do however know some people (friends and family) that are talking about going to the track to ride for the day, none of them are in my opinion even up to beginner status with their bikes. They just bought them, and have ridden a handfull of times at the most, with really no skills other than starting and stopping without falling over (and not always that), none of them have any desire to race, or to even better themselves (I have talked to them about this), but they want to "grace" track day with their TTR230's (not a slam on the TTR), my question is...How do you track riders feel about people with no experience on your track, isn't there a possibility for them to injure themselves or others, or do you not really care one way or the other?

It doesn't bother me as long as they know the basics of track etiquette. If they hold their line and they don't jump on the track in front of me without looking, then everything is hunky dory. I'm always nervous that a newby will be crashed-out on a blind landing, but otherwise, no worries. Honestly, I have bigger problems with experienced goons than I do with true beginners.