Sign in to follow this  

Knee Braces - Arguments Against?

Both my Doctor and Physical Therapist say "It has been shown" that knee braces do not protect your knee. That if anything, they make matters worse by giving a false sense of security.

I told 'em "No way" and that everybody "swears by them" including myself ... and got a prescription for my second pair of CTI Braces. 'course I had busted the first CTI brace (and my knee) in my last crash.

Well, I'm sure most of you agree that knee braces are crucial. I am interested to hear arguments to the contrary though. Anybody got a good argument against knee braces?

. Anybody got a good argument against knee braces?

Yes, as a practicing Orthopedic Surgeon I think it is important that all dirt bike riders stop wearing any type of protection. Get rid of those knee braces, cumbersome motorcycle boots and helmets. Only sissies wear gloves and goggles. Just remember, if you need my services, feel free to call anytime.

only argument I have is the cost of the good ones. next they'll be saying we don't need helmets, as they don't really help either :naughty:

I have heard the argument that if you wear knee braces you will break other things, e.g. femur, tib/fib.. I have worn a CTi2 for about 9 years, crashed many times and the only thing I've fractured is my pelvis. But my knees have been fine. I guess they work!

RJB, That was exactally what I was thinking, when I read this. What a false sense of security, my helmet gives me! When I smack a limb on the trail, it only sort of hurts...With out my helmet I'd be secure in knowing that it really HURT!

Seriously, one ACL reconsructuring in '89... From knee hyper-extension...A scope job later...I'm a firm believer in extra knee protection...I always wear neoprene wraps under both sides..Even in 100+ temp. The joint stays warm and is less prone to injury.

If I'm using my helmet, my chest protector and knee protection are the next safety gear used..Danno