TT-R250 too much for total newb?

Hey guys, I've been lurking for a while, reading about these bikes in hopes of learning more and helping me decide what bike to go with. I am a brand new rider... been on a bike maybe twice in my 24 years. I'm 6' 165lbs. Riding would be trails and woods roads; little to no jumping, and I like the idea of dualsport rides once I get my bearings (again, down the road). My question is would a TT-R250 be too much to learn on? I'm not much on doing things half-A$$, so I fear if I got a 125 to play with I'd be bored in a month or two. I know I would be big for it already, plus once I got comfortable I know I'd be wanting something bigger. I'm thinking of just going brand new as I don't know much about these bikes yet and fear getting stuck with someone else's problem buying used; plus would just like to have trouble free riding. So if I'm gonna invest in a brand new bike I'd like to be able to keep it for at least a couple of years and have it still be fun/challenging. I guess another option is the 230, but from what I read many consider it worth it to spend the extra $1k and get the 250. (Plus if dualsporting is an interest the 250 be easier to convert with it already having some lights?)

My ultimate goal is just to have some fun and learn to ride so I can eventually get a street bike. I figure getting an offroad bike is an inexpensive way to get some great experience that I can use out on the road someday with all the idiot drivers. I'll probably like it so much that I'll have to have one of each!! Opinions?

Get a used 250 that way if you dont like it you wont lose as much money.

If you are that worried about buying someone elses problems then a new 250 might

be the way to go. That way you get a warranty at least to fall back on. Good

point that sleeman makes. Alot of times you can pick up a good used bike that has

alot of aftermarket stuff. That is ok as long as the previous owner knew what they