Newbie choke question

Hi guys..great forum. I have a question that I'm sure has an obvious and easy answer. I just got a 230 and have riden about 15 miles. The bike doesn't seem to want to start with the choke fully on, even cold. It will usually start in either of the other two positions. If I turn the choke fully on right after starting it (just to see what happens) it dies. I'm assuming it's flooding out...does this sound normal? The temperature is around 70. Again, i'm new to all this, so I just wanted to make sure my new 230 is running alright! Thanks!

Dont worry about it. Start your bike, let it warm up and ride.

Just out of curiosity, and because I have no knowledge when it comes to this sort of thing....is it normal for the engine to die after it's warmed up and the choke is turned back on full?

When u begin to start the bike, u might want to try putting the choke on full for about 2 kicks. Then if it doesnt start, then go to half and start it there. Let it warm up and then put it to no choke and go have fun. Yes, the engine will most likely die when the choke is put on full after it has been warmed up.

the 230 has no kick start

yes, it will die if you turn it on after its hot.......

try starting it when its cold in this order....

puller' out, turn choke onto FULL, kit the button, after it fires listen, if it is blubbering turn it to HALF.....sit there for about 30 sec-1 min......turn OFF choke.....KINDA HARD TO EXPLAIN THIS, YOU JUST HAVE TO KNOW WHAT YOUR ENGINE IS DOING FIRST.

and then have phun!!!!!!!!

woodjh, Ride_for_Red is on the money. I've got my 230 and the temps here in VA are just breaking 60. I need to use the full choke for 10-15 seconds, the half choke for 1 min, then off. I have to twist the throttle in short, quick succession for about the first minute, then it will idle by itself. Just don't rev the crap out of it when it's cold, only enough to keep it from dying...good luck and you'll get used to it eventually. :naughty: