Sign in to follow this  

What happened to all the dual sport bikes?

Hello gents. Let me start by saying that I am by no means a motorcycle expert. Basically, I have only ridden older (late 70's, early 80's) dual sport motorcycles and never really been interested in MX. When I was younger, Honda had a full line of dual sport XL models, I believe ranging from 75cc to 600cc. I am currently looking at buying my girlfriend a conservatively powered dual sport, and obviously Honda was at the top of my list. To my dismay, I found that the only dual sport bike currently offered by Honda is the monstrous XR650L.

What happened to the XL line? Why was it scrapped? It seems there would be great interest by the general public in dual sport motorcycles for tooling around town and riding down dirt trails. Correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe Honda also offered XR250L and XR400L dual sport bikes. I can't imagine there not being adequate demand for nice, mid sized dual sports such as these.

Like I stated previously, I am by no means an expert in this field, and haven't followed the motorcycle industry too much over the last 10-15 years. I just find it a shame that a company such as Honda, who used to offer an extensive dual sport lineup, has seen it dwindle down to just one. And the one they offer is so big and heavy, novice and female riders have no current dual sport bikes to purchase.

What a shame...

There are a few around.

Get the DRZ250 if you want a 250 and DRZ400 is you want a 400.

Honda hasn't had a dual-sport based on the XR400 in the USA, only the older XR350L and XL350.

I have an XR400 that was converted to be a dual-sport. Unfortunately, that is a lot tougher to do these days. Personally, I'd rather have a dirt bike with the dual-sport gear added than a factory dual-sport.

Kevin

If a motorcycle company stops making a bike, it's cause they don't sell well.