John Curea

I'm a novice rider moving up to intermediate and I was thinking about buying the $5000 works suspension that pro circuit makes. I read a article saying that it's the same suspension that Tedesco uses. The question that I have for you are anyone else is that, I know a race tech certified technition and he told me that if your not at the speed of a pro, you won't feel the difference between the works suspension and $300 aftermarket springs. Is this true? I hate to spend all that money for nothing. It's hard for me to believe that you won't be able to tell the difference between aftermarket springs and $5,000 works suspension because I'm not as fast as a pro?

$5000, you are out of your mind son! I've read that its a complete waste of money, you can get alot of revalve for $5000 plus some.

Spend 500 - 750 for a good set up by a company like MX tech or others and use the 4000 left over to get more seat / track time and lessons from a pro. Honing your skills mean more than the suspension.

If you are not at that level of speed then their suspension will feel like crap. JC has done a good set up for my son on his RM85 years back, Ohlins stuff on a 125 and now the Showas on our CRF. The mods he does for us are not for the intermidate or novice rider. Anyone that rides my son's bike hates it unless they are much faster than he is. I am 90lbs heavier than my son and a spode on the bike and it is a tad harsh for me at times. After spending alot of hard earned cash on Juniors rides I took some advice from a few veterans. When he does a lap with the throttle full on and makes no mistakes then look at what you can do to make him faster otherwise allow him to use what he has to work with.