Is This A Good Deal??? Please Help Me

This is my first post on the forum and i'll admit that i am not yet an owner of a WR. But in fact, i am in the process of getting one. I am just wondering if the price that i worked out with the dealer is a good price. They told me i could have the bike for $5460 after tax, set up, doc. fee and freight. I feel that that is a good out-the-door price and i would like to know what you guys think. Please help me.

Also, I am 15 years old about 140lbs. and about 5'11"- 6 ft tall. I have been riding (a RT 100) for five years. I know its a big step but i want to get a bike that will be a good bike for many years as I get older. Is it too much for me? PLEASE HELP

THANKS TO EVERYONE WHO WILL POST (sorry for the long post on my part but i need info cause im lookin at pickin it up tommorow on Friday or Saturday.)

Hi,

As much as I love my WR,I think that you might be getting in a little over your head with a bike this big. The price you have been quoted is pretty good,but you might want to consider a bike a little smaller, both in weight and power. I have a 15 year old son that is 6'2" 150 lbs, and the WR intimidates him. Have you considered a WR 250F, or YZ250F? You might want to. Even a TTR 250? I think if you got a smaller bike and rode that for a couple years and then go to a big power bike.I know this is not what you want to do, but I'm afraid that you might regret your decision later, if you go with a 400 now.Even the Kawasaki KLX300 or Honda XR400 might be a better choice as a stepping stone. These bikes ,I believe, are easier to ride in technical areas than a WR 400. But if you think you are ready for a WR400 , I think you are getting a good price.Just have fun with whatever bike you get.Good Luck.

I started to write about the pros and cons of the owning the WR at your age/size, but it really boils down to two things: