newbie here, need your expertise

After a few yrs of street riding I'm thinking about trading my 02 Yammie FZ1 straight up for a new '05 KLX300......or should I try to find a KDX220 to trade for? 2 or 4-stroke doesn't matter to me. I just want good tractable power that won't need much clutch fanning if I miss a gear on a hill. Years ago I had a Husky 250XC and loved the thing. Bullet-proof, no mtc required. I will be trail riding and looking to do some hare scrambles again. Ok, guys, let me hear it. I may be pulling the trigger on the trade tomorrow.....

I think it boils down as to whether you want a 2S or a 4S. They both look siimilar, both have excellent reliability, and both handle similarly. I'm guessing (not sure) that the KDX would be a little lighter. If you want to DS the bike, the KLX would win out. Also, the KLX should have a much further range if you go on long rides (about 100 miles). The KDX will be punchier due to it being a 2S, but the KLX is a monster on hills - especially if you put in the dynojet kit for $60. Lots of torque and pulls very nicely, allowing for mid hill corrections and such with out a lot of clutch fanning. It will pull a very tall gear up all but the most steep sand hills.

If you want to DS the bike, the KLX would win out. .

Pardon my ignorance, but what do you mean by "DS the bike........?"

(watch, I'll figure that out as soon as I click on SUBMIT REPLY.)

actually, the spec sheet shows both weighing 234 lbs., same seat height, same wheelbase.

The 300 sure would be sweet if your terrain is similar to TN. I kicked around the same idea before settling on my 300 (after some modifications). I've ridden several hot four/two strokes and I like the predictable manner (ride and engine) of the 300. When I'm on the throttle, I know exactly what to expect and that counts for a lot when I'm in a tough section. Like Bill said, it's a blast on hills - the more gnarly the better.