XR400R vs. WR250F

I will be turning 15 this month. I have been riding an XR400 for about 4 days now and can handle it well but was wanting something a little more modern like an mx crossover bike. I have been riding a CRF150F for 2 years. I will be riding trails and plenty of open fire lanes. I am 5'6" and weigh 115 lbs. I know they have about the same horsepower. I also know that there is more aftermarket support for the wr. The XR costs $3200 and its a 2002 model and is in great shape. I am not sure about getting a wr. Any help would be appreciated. :naughty:

In my opinion the xr is an antique in a few years people will be retiring them and selling them to collectors where the bike will sit in a garage never to be ridden again. But if you want the positives and negatives of both, the xr has a lot more tork which is nice for the tight trails and steep up hills that you can just tractor away on. The xr also is significantly heaver than the wr. The xr is about 275 pounds, while the wr is between 228 to 239 depending on the year. The wr's motor provides about the same peek horsepower as the xr after the free mods. The xr's top speed is higher than the wr's for those fast fire roads. My girlfriends dad has an xr 400 and his biggest complaint about it is the weight, also the xr is virtually bullet proof where the wr is very reliable compared to today’s 250f it is no mach for the xr. My honest opinion is the xr's were yesterdays four-strokes the wr is today’s.

As a former XR owner, I must admit that they just don't turn. You will thank yourself for getting the more modern design, and your girlfriends dad will wish he had one too. Better suspension big time.

Too bad Honda scrapped the XR. They should have taken the aircooled bulletproof motor and put it in a CR frame.