New Member with questions

Hello all,

This is my first post in the KLX forum and I have some questions for you gurus. I will start with a informal intro to myself. I am 30, male, 6 foot, 200lbs. I have very little dirt experience except for riding a few time growing up as a young man. I have spent the last 4 year riding on the road. 3 years on a SV650s and about a year on a yamaha FZ1. My wife and I are expecting and I have had several close calls on the street bike so I decided I need to be around for my kid and maybe take a step back from the road bikes. The FZ1 sold yesterday and I have been keeping my eyes open for a KLX300R. I have a friend who rides one that loves it. I thought it would be a good bike to get into the dirt world. I don't plan on doing any MX mostly trails and fire roads etc..... so I am going to have to figure out how to get it plated. Anyway to my questions. I found one locally and I wanted to see what you guys thought. Its a 03 that he is asking $3299 for. He says it is completely stock and that he is selling it cause its a little to big for him. However it has 2k miles on it. Is that a fair amount of miles for a 03? I thought maybe it seemed a little high. My other questions revolve around what to look for problem wise. Any tips or comments you could give me on that would be great. I have a general understanding of bikes cause I wrenched some on my street bikes. Nothing hardcore but I did basic maintenance on them. Anyway thanks for your time and thumpertalk looks like a great place to find info.

Ripxtt

I think I would be asking how often it was ridden and where to determine if the 2k miles are accurate. That seems like an awful lot of miles for an 03 model if it's been trail ridden only. Not to say that it can't be done, but if the guy says it was only ridden occasionally, it should make you question the milage.

Look at all the obvious stuff like overall condition, check the oil, look for signs of leaks, or neglect.