Sign in to follow this  

So you want to change your tires.........

Well, bought a rear Kenda Trackmaster II and an MT83 Scorpion front for my new '05 DRZ400S. Self sufficiency is the key to success so now I'm going to change my tires. Off to the Farm Supply to get some spoons. 16"ers with some nice big heads. These ought to do. After reading MANY posts for help and technique on TT I'm ready. Get the front off with no problem. Actually mount one side of the MT83 with ease though MUCH stiffer. Now the fight starts. I soap it, warm it, pray to it and it won't go on all the way. I'm new to this so I don't want to pry too much. This went on for two evenings and I'm not giving up. But then I hear about a Harbor Freight tire changer. I justify that if I change tires three times, it will pay for itself. I buy it, mount it in my shop, and off I go. I'm running the bead on one side so easy and thinking this is the cat's meow. Then I notice that as I am setting on one side, it's popping off the opposite side. Fought that contraption for two hours.

Now my last resort is to bug my neighbor. He has a DRZ400E and I know he has changed a tire or two. He pulls out these small 8" spoons from Motion Pro and says let's go try it. Within 5 minutes of getting to my house, the front is mounted. :naughty: We pull the rear and mount within a half hour.

Moral to the story.

1. That tire WILL stretch around that rim-really.

2. The small spoons made for motorcycle wheels seem to work the best. I think mine were for tractor tires.

3. Lot's of soap.

4. Take little bites.

5. Just because you spend more money on something, it does not necessarily work better.

6. Watch someone do it first before you try.

This was all advice on TT in one form or another. Should have listened.

Time to ride......

Gary

the tire wont stretch if it does u broke the wire. the bead has has to be in the center of the rim where the diameter is smaller. bigger tire spoons are always easier.