Sign in to follow this  

GPR Stabilizer Questions

I just installed a V3 GPR steering stabilizer on my Yamaha 05 WR450. This is my first steering stabilizer so I have no experiences to compare it to. After riding the bike for the first time yesterday in a desert terrain after having installed the unit I have a few questions:

1. Should there be a significant difference between the first setting and the last setting? In the case of the V3 this would be between setting 1 and setting 8. There seemed to be very little change in resistance between the first and last settings. At the first setting there was a considerable amount of damping resistance present. I would have thought that there would be almost zero noticeable resistance at the first setting.

2. Is there a good amount of learning curve/adjustment period when using a steering stabilizer for the first time? To be honest I didn't see any benefit at all from the addition of the unit after my first ride. I was riding an area with significant whoop sections, sandy areas, and rocky straight-aways and had to fight the bike the whole time to keep it upright and going straight. This was with the stabilizer at the 1st and 2nd settings. After a few miles I was completely worn out from fighting the bike and called it a day.

I don't know if it was me or the stabilizer but I wasn't at all pleased with the performance of the unit. I'm no newbie at motorcycles as I have been riding dirt bikes and quads for 8+ years, but this is the first time I have used a steering stabilizer on any machine. Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

Mark