426 decomp: Hot Cam or 450 Cam ????

Hello Thumpsters,

I have a question I have been riding for nearly 20 years now and I recently bought a '01 426F and man do I love this bike. HOWEVER, this is my first 4-stroke MX bike. I only rode the 4-stroke trail bikes back in the day (everything else was a 2-smoke).

Ok, now the problem.............I went riding this past weekend at a mx park and when starting the bike cold, I really didn't have a problem. But when hot, it's just like playing the lotto, you never know when your number will come up. I know, I know ..........I know the starting procedure, I know about kicking it thru a couple of times, I know about giving it no throttle and I know about the hot start. But man it was baking out at the track literally and I after a couple of restarts in the sun, I was really, really tired. I would like less hassle when restarting. I am considering a decomp cam!!!

So my question is does the decomp cam make life just like a 2-stroke ??

Do you have to push the piston to a certain point or can you just get on and kick ??

Is it still very hard to kick thru??

And which is a better route to take a HotCam or a YZ450 Cam ???

I appreciate any tips!!

?

So my question is does the decomp cam make life just like a 2-stroke ?? No, it opens one valve making it possible to kick over same as with decompression lever.

Do you have to push the piston to a certain point or can you just get on and kick ?? Just kick

Is it still very hard to kick thru?? same, no change in compression.

Which is a better route to take a HotCam or a YZ450 Cam ??? Your choice, I chose the Hot Cam route, many other went the cheap route and bought 450 Cam.