Sign in to follow this  

MI Beginner Trails

We live in Chicago and are interested in exploring some of MI's trails. We have looked around at the MI DNR site (plan on joining CCC too) and have found a multitude of trails, but what we can't find is difficulty levels. We'd love to find some simple trails to gain more experience on.

The wife and I, both ride KLX's (with plates). She's a beginner level rider and I'm a novice. I don't want my better half to become discouraged with riding, by ending up on trails that are too difficult. Any input, or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you

I would check into the Baldwin area. There is several loops there to choose from as well as a fully stocked dealer right on the trail, Peacock Motorsports on US-37.

Some of the trails acessable from there area:

1. Lincoln Hills Both single track and 2-tracks

2. Little Manistee Both single and 2-track

3. Tin Cup both single and 2-track

4. Little O, quad width trail.

5. Big O (need street legal bike to ride)

6. Mccct trail from Lincoln Hills all the way north to Boon.

None of these trails are too teriably challanging. But if we dont get any rain soon they will be a sandy dustbowl. Pretty much any trail in Michigan is gonna be a dusty sandpit right now. We havent gotten any real rain in over a month and its getting pretty dry out there.

Baldwin is really offroad friendly. There are plenty of campgrounds and hotels/cabins in the area to stay in.

You will need a Michigan ORV sticker avaliable thru the Michigan DNR's site for $16.25. and you will need a spark arested exhaust that meets Mi's 94db cuttoff. They dont check for the sound all that much. The orv and spark arester are the 2 biggest. But you dont want a thunderousely loud exhaust either. Thats just asking for trouble 🙂

Post up a note before you come on up. Maybe one of us locals can come over for a day and show you around.