Sign in to follow this  

Washer mod. Question

Can the washer mod for the fork be applied to a TTR 125L 2001.

No you cant, Only on bike with out emulaters, I cant do them to my CR80 forks and but they are upsode down forks, But the forks on my yzf600r are regular forks and i cant do it. Cause its got emulaters in it.

Yeah you can, however not gunna argue. I have done it to all three of my street bikes, VFR x 2 and CBR. They all have suspension mods including emulators.

This may sound stupider, but what the he#l is the washer mod? 🙂

Yah, i dont know what an emulator is either.....The washer mod is where you take a stack of washers, in my case 3/4 inch, and place them on top of the fork springs to make the suspension stiffer; it works great!

Yeah I did the washer mod, one of the easiest things ever to do 🙂 I just got my bike about a month ago so I'm still new at trying to tinker on it, but I'm gonna do the jetting tomorrow ('05 CRF230). We'll see how that goes. I haven't been able to see how the bike rides since I've done the washer mod, mainly because my friends haven't wanted to go riding which sucks for me, I haven't ridden in three weeks! GRRRRRRR 🙂!!!! Hopefully I'll get to ride soon, my only problem is I don't have a truck so I can't haul my bike so I have to rely on other people aka my friends ugh it sucks, hopefully I'll get a truck soon! Good luck to anyone who does the washer mod, I think it will help a lot just from what people have said. Sorry I went on a tangent :D

-Mary

Here is the long story www.fjmods.btinternet.co.uk/emulators.htm. basically an emulator (with some mods to the internals of your damper style fork) turns a damper style fork into a cartridge style fork. Gives way more adjustment. Not really practical on the CRF 230's, however for street bikes and racers with damper forks, it makes a huge difference. The washer stack is basically the same as putting in a heavier (or longer) spring, just cheaper.

Sorry nw56.