Sign in to follow this  

2003 CRF450R (used) Worth Buying?

Hi Guys

I am new to this forum and have been riding 2 strokes and a CRF250R. I was thinking about buying a 2003 CRF450R in decent shape for $2900 from my dealer. I was going to buy it as a extra bike. I have been riding for 2 years now mostly on 125s and a 250 CRF but i wanted to try a 450. Anyway, Was there any major problems with the 03? . Is it worh $2900? (it is in decent shape). Is there valve issues (like the 250)? .Thanks for your input

That seems like a pretty good price, especially from a dealer.

The valves on the 450s don't seem to have as high of a failure rate as the 250s, probably due to rpms, this is just my own anecdotal experience and what I've heard.

My own 450 finally had one intake lose most adjustability after about 150 to 200 hours, oddly enough the other valve is fine. I would say the vast majority of 450 owners still have the original valves in their bikes.

I don't know if there is any difference between '02s and '03s as far as the "valve issue" goes. They seem to be the same from where I am sitting...

I dunno. I'd buy it at that price.

One neat trick I like to use to gauge usage is check the kickstart where it hits the peg. Compare this to your own bike, I think it is a good rough guide to how much use the bike saw.

Hope this helps.

I bought a used '03 for $4,500. Its a good price if it is in good shape. I would give it a thourough going over. If you buy it I would take it apart and inspect everything. They are great bikes, I love mine, and man are they fast! One of the best upgrades I did to mine was a complete Hinson clutch...like butter! I have Hinson basket, plates, inner hub, and pressure plate. A little pricey, but man is it nice. I had trouble with the stock clutch as it wouldnt disengage all the way, but that is the only problem I have encountered.