Sign in to follow this  

Opinion question 4 yall...

Im just getting into riding and all, and im just looking around for a bike. Im small, like real small, and Ive read all the stuff on getting a bike that I can. For opinions sake, what do you think my best option is? Im around 5'2" and 100lbs 🙂 Heres what I was thinken - Yam TT-R125L, Kaw KLX125L, KLX/DRZ 125 and 125L

I started with the TTR125L and I loved that bike. Great confidence builder. Light, nimble and enough power for a beginner.

a friend of mine is 5-2 100lb as well

she started riding on a KX80

but she likes her lowered EXC250 a lot better, she says

why do you restrict yourself to 125 4-strokes?

oh, well, im not trying to restrict myself, i just think that i dont know any better, lol 🙂

i just noticed that they were all 125's as well...i dont think i did that on purpouse

My daughter rides a TTR125 right now, it is the most reliable bike i have seen she does harescrambles on it and the only thing i ever have to do is regular maintenance. Buy that first then when you like it get a bi8gger bike.

a friend of mine is 5-2 100lb as well

she started riding on a KX80

but she likes her lowered EXC250 a lot better, she says

why do you restrict yourself to 125 4-strokes?

Staying away from small 2 strokes meant for an MX track is probably wise, unless she wants to ride MX. If you're going to do trail riding, and possibly race offroad later on, the bikes you listed are pretty good starts.

I've posted this before, but I and my wife are HUGE fans of conversion bikes. Look at my signature...her bike weighs less than a TTR125, has great brakes and suspension, and has tons of easily controlled power that you can't get in small MX bikes.

Good luck and have fun.

Staying away from small 2 strokes meant for an MX track is probably wise.

as much as people here worry about a few pounds ...

and about kickstarting a real thumper ...

why not throw some flywheelweight on a small smoker?