Sign in to follow this  

brand brand brand new

ok guys dont beat me up here might be kinda long. ok just moved to idaho from florida because of the military, jet skied in fl all the time. moved to idaho and went to my first motocross race last night, ohhh wowww it was awesome, i got bit by the bug, anybody who does this i admire, it looks pretty dang cool. anyway where i live everybody and there brother has a bike in the back of there truck so there are a lot of places to ride. i am a newbie and am looking at buying a good beginner bike, fill me in guys, i dont want something brand new maybe 5-10 yrs old, something to learn on. im 6'4 250 lbs kinda big. i want to know anything and everything, fill me in, im like a sponge, theres a lot of desert riding and mountains around here. 🙂

Well 4 stroke is the way to go but a bit more $$ when buying a bike. 2 strokes are cheaper but require more engine rebiulds and such (alot of guys around here have never touched the inside of there engines). Just starting out you COULD go with a YZ(motocross) or WR(woods and trail) 250F's but with your weight a 450 would be better and you would alway have the extra power. 1st: Search this site about questions that come up (ie, difference between a YZ and WR) 2nd: I would suggest buying as new of a bike as possible, 2000 or newer (they make leapes and bounds each year). 3rd: Please don't get a bike and try to do what you saw at the MX track :D🙂 , you have to crawl before you can fly 🙂.

Buy plenty of protective gear, beside boots, helmets, ect, get knee and shin guards. Anymore questions just ask.