Sign in to follow this  

Porting vs bigbore

What gives better overall power, going to a 480 bigbore or having the head ported with oversized stainless steel valves installed.

from what i have read they are different kinds of power.big bore adds power but slows revs. porting adds power but higher revs.im no expert but everything ive read points that way.plus big bore has torque because of increased ccs

Neither. Just swap out the 450 motor for a ported CR500 mill. Mucho faster. Much more reliable. Sounds much better. Smells better, too.

And makes riding a standard 450 seem like riding a XR250...

A big bore gives you more power through torque by not turning more RPM which is usually more ridable in most instances a ported motor makes more power through turning more RPM usually. Any time you go for a good amount more HP through porting you will always have to turn more RPM and lose some torque. It is all trade offs if you are looking for more MPH HP is the way to go but for excelleration from lets say 0 to 60 torque is the way to go.

What gives better overall power, going to a 480 bigbore or having the head ported with oversized stainless steel valves installed.

Let's see- Burned is making 60hp with stock displacement.

If it was me I would have RHC port the head, J&E piston, use his cam and carb mod.

Go for even more HP and you will start to lose torque unless you go bigger displacment or a super charger or turbo.

thats a general statement that doesnt necesarily hold true.

in the case of my bike,its definately not true.

thats the coolest part about the RHC 187 cam.

thats a general statement that doesnt necesarily hold true.

in the case of my bike,its definately not true.

thats the coolest part about the RHC 187 cam.