Sign in to follow this  

Riding in the Tahoe area

I have been riding the north and west shore for the last 10 years and would love to find some new people to ride with. I know some pretty good trails in the area and would love to explore more but it gets kinda hairy out there sometimes and I don't want to go too far out alone- better to ride with a buddy just in case. Which reminds me of a story...

It's a lazy summer afternoon at our campsite in Meeks bay when the three of us decide to "ride the rubicon". Me on my '84 XR500, my good friend and riding partner Marty ('87 XR600), and Dave (XT400) head up Miller lake road with 4 or 5 beers in our bellies and thunderstorms booming in the distance. The further along we get the more ominous the thunderstorms become and we start to get some sprinkles. No problem, just a few sprinkles, it will stop soon enough. We have ridden the Rubicon trail before but never all the way to Rubicon springs. The last section is really rocky and technical and not for the faint of heart . Our egos fortified with beer, we continue all the way down to the river trying not to realizing all the while how difficult getting out is going to be.

We congratulate ourselves and walk around for a few minutes when it becomes obvious the thunderstorms are moving our way and it might really start to rain .So we hop back on our bikes and start heading out, Dave first, followed by Marty, then me. Dave makes it up the the first and most challenging off-camber rocky section, stops at the top and waits for Marty who has stopped right at the bottom. I pull up beside Marty while he gets psyched and I'm thinking aren't you going to get a running start? Nope, he just gasses it, gets halfway and loops his bike. It crashes hard on some jagged rocks, puts a hole in the crankcase and starts spewing oil all over the place. Suddenly things are not looking so good.