Sign in to follow this  

Is this normal?

Im new to liqiud cooled bikes so be easy on me. Im using 50/50 antifreeze and water, and if I fill my radiator up to the top then go riding for about an hour when I get back it will be half empty. This seems strange to me,Im wondering if maybe there is a leak in the radiator hoses or something? :applause: Is there something wrong or are liquid cooled bikes supposed to be like this?

Half empty as in...You can't see any fluid? Thats not normal.

Yeah I have to tip the bike over to see it. My bike runs really cool and never overheats or anything.

is the bike used? if so the radiator cap spring could be worn so bad that the radiator pressure could be so low that the fluid is boiling over and out through the tube. I have a 2000 rm250 and i think that is happening to me. Everytime i check the radiator it is slightly low. If you can tilt your bike to see the coolant than it's not too terribly low and shouldn't be hurting anything(unless the handlebars are on the ground!) If the bike is brand new than it just may be normal. but i would replace the radiator cap regardless and see if that changes anything.

it doesn't mean your bike is overheating, just the coolant is boiling over because there is no pressure. that is why it is under pressure in the first place.

Yeah I have to tip the bike over to see it. My bike runs really cool and never overheats or anything.

Not Good!!!!

Is Your Engine Oil Milky.???????????????

Not Good!!!!

Is Your Engine Oil Milky.???????????????

Buddy his bike is a two-stroke = no engine oil. And there's no way the tranny oil could be affected by this.

You should fill up your radiator, and then let your bike run at idle for about ten minutes out in your yard. While it's running, look for spots where the fluid is or may be leaking.