Sign in to follow this  

what gear to get for a newbie

Hey everyone. I'm brand new to riding and have a couple of questions. I recently bought a 2002 yz250f and plan on mostly riding trails although i could see myself getting out on a track. I'm already planning on getting the 03 e cam mod so i can get an easier kick. Didn't know how hard that would be... oh well :applause:. anyway, i already spent a good amount on the bike and want to ride some trails besides the fields near my house. What should i get in terms of gear and where are some good deals. Also, any newbie advice specific to my bike would be great. :eek: Thanks guys.

Check on Ebay, as I see a lot of gear brand new, real darn cheap. Also, in the back of any of the bike mags are gear combos that seem like a good deal. Most of the jerseys are very similar. Just buy some stuff thats not super expensive, last years model etc.

Boots are more important. I bought some real cheap boots (Alpinestar M4) and now I regret it. They are starting to hurt my feet more, instead of breaking in. Buy some cheaper clothing and save $$ for good boots.

You are going to need to try on different helmets to find one that fits and is comfortable. Again, don't spend a ton of $$ on a fancy looking helmet. Try and find one with a removable liner for ease of cleaning. Once you find one that fits, you can support the local dealer, or remember the size, style and brand and shop online to save some money.

Get some good goggles and gloves as well. If you are going to be riding offroad, pockets are real nice in the pants.

Protective gear such as chest protector, arm pads, kneegaurds (a must IMHO) are also going to need to be tried on first. I've found that AXO gear sucks rocks, if you want some of mine give me your address (I'm serious). A camelback is also a real nice addition if you ride offroad.