Sign in to follow this  

shift lever, CFC????????????????????????

I put the cfc guard on and shaved the sharp point off of the lever. when the lever flexes inward(its a little loose is that normal?) it hits the case. Also im new to riding and this is a new bike, I have a new pair of tech8s and realized i needed to adjust the lever up so I could get the boot under to shift. It works fine for me with regular hiking boots on. Is it normal to have to adjust to fit yourself? :applause:

Thanks,

Gus

I had to rotate my lever up a notch or 2 when I got my tech 8s also.

Not sure about it hitting the case, you could pull it off the splines a little more if its recessed.

my oe shifter did the same. even my 1" extended does it. it will just scratch the cfc a little.cosmetic damage only. with the oe aluminum, i bent it out slightly(while off the bike) to give it some clearance. now my bike has that"off road" look to it, so i just don't care :applause:

I spent the $$ ofnthe CFC's, took off my shifter and filed and sanded it until it was smooth as a baby's bottom, put the shifter back on, and proceeded to wear a groove in my CFC after one ride.

Went home and loosened the bolt that holds the shifter, pulled it out as far as I could with the bolt still in, tightened and found that I had a gap of over 1/8" and it has not rubbed since.