Sign in to follow this  

KTM 450 EXC info needed.

Hi all.

I'm new to this 4-stroke game, I've been an oil burner all my life (KDX200 & 2x KX250's) but trail riding up against a squadron of 4-bangers (3xYZ450f's, a RM-Z450, and a CRF450) my KX250 is getting a displacement complex, not to mention I'm ringing it's neck.

My friends and I all ride geared MX's on the trails as they are slick, quick and nimble. I've got the opportunity to throw a leg over an '04 KTM 450 EXC which would be great to get the wide ratio box and trail set up but I have never ridden one before and same goes for my mates and I don't want to hop on a trail tracktor.

Could someone please shed some light on what I should expect with regard to the power curve, gear ratios, and reliability of the 450 EXC. . . . and any other little tricks I should know about it.

Thanks Crew.

it has 450cc and itiis a four stroke

it sure is!!! is there anything valuable in this guys posts??? i see the entire page has been responded to by him, but it is a two or three word answer... i agree with the others... check out the KTM forum

I would also check out ktmtalk.com

You might also want to look into the MXC models because from what I understand they are basically the MX bike, witha bigger tank, an extra transmission gear and a headlight.

You might also want to look into the MXC models because from what I understand they are basically the MX bike, witha bigger tank, an extra transmission gear and a headlight.

Actually I believe the crankweight and the flywheel are lighter on the SX models.

If you want to run the MX four strokes over get the 525.

Like the others said, ask the KTM experts in the KTM forum, and go to KTMtalk.com.

For the KTM fours strokes up through '05:

EXC: Enduro type bike. Electric start. Wide ratio 6 speed tranny. Lights. 2.9 gl tank (or so).