My first ever ride on a KTM/SXF

Hi. I thought I'd post my first ever ride report. I got a new 06 SXF last Saturday, and went out riding for the first time Thursday. I have been riding for about 15 years, and since 01 I've been on a 426, a 450 and 3 250 all YZF's. I've never ridden a KTM or even sat one one, but here are my first impressions:

The ergos are good, and so are the brakes. I had no problem getting used to the bike, and my boots didn't get caught anywere. Moving around on the bike was easy.

The suspension was really stiff, but I guess that's because the bike is new. It was the same thing on my YZF's. The bike felt a little less stable than the YZ in a straight line, but it was much easier to turn, and it would stick to any line I wanted in the turns. As it turns easier than the YZ I kind of turned more/sharper then I was planning to a couple of times almost running of the track.

The engine has LOTS of power from down low to mid, but it had a lot less on top comared to my old 05 YZF. When I started revving it, nothing really happened it just made more noise. On my YZF if I wanted to go faster, I could just rev it further, but on the KTM the best way to get more speed was to gear up to through the gears. I was a lot faster when I short shifted the bike using the bottom and mid power. I would say the power curve is more like on a 450.

All in all I would say I'm very pleased with my new SXF, and I also read somewhere it revs better after a few hours. Also I might be getting a new exhaust. Just have to figure out which one.

Awesome looking bike you've got yourself there. I've got two quick questions:

1. How do you feel the seat height is compared to your YZ's, does it feel a lot lower?

2. How much did you get it out the door for? Honestly.. heheheh.

Again, nice bike!

I posted this on the other board so I thought I'd cover all my bases.