Taking the forks off

I have a 2001 YZ125. It has a leaky fork seal and this is my first time doing any kind of suspension work. Should I take the whole steering stem off or just loosen the clamps on the forks to get the forks off? What should I know about doing fork seals. I don't really want to buy a fork seal driver, so I'm going with the ghetto PVC pipe trick. How big should the pipe be and how should I cut it to do the same job as a fork seal driver? If anyone could steer me in the right direction for instructions on a fork seal job that would be awesome.

Thanks.

P.S. Here's a pic of what i'm talking about with the forks. How should I go about removing them?

forks.jpg

First remove the front brake caliper, then the wheel. Next, loosen the upper and lower triple clamp pinch bolts and slide the forks out. While you've got the fork out, go ahead and take the steering stem out and regrease the bearings.

I can't help you on the fork seal tool.

First remove the front brake caliper, then the wheel. Next, loosen the upper and lower triple clamp pinch bolts and slide the forks out. While you've got the fork out, go ahead and take the steering stem out and regrease the bearings.

I can't help you on the fork seal tool.

Thanks. Anyone else have anymore information?