Sign in to follow this  

Sprocket Brand Suggestions

Hey this is my first time getting replacements sprockets for a bike. I'd just like to know of some brands that have sprockets that might last longer, or brands to stay away from. Thanks.

Oh I forgot. If I get a new chain, should I got an X-ring or O-ring. I heard somewhere that X-rings are better for woods riding because they don't stretch or they are stronger or something of the sort.

An X-ring is an advancement over the O-ring, so I would say go with the X. As to sprockets, I ran Tag steel sprockets on my RM and the rear showed almost no wear even after the front and chain were showing significant signs of wear. The KTM is still new enough that the stock stuff is holding up good. When it comes time to replace them, I'm gonna go with the orange Renthal you can get from KTM 'cause its pretty. :D

an o ring or x ring chain is too much weight for a kx 100. just get a quality non o ring chain like a renthal, RK, Regina. IMO all the high end companies offer similar products, but I think the RK is supposed to stretch less. There's an add with Scott Summers and it says I don't like adjusting my chain, I think its RK. If it does stretch out, you can take out links (not on the stocker, too weak).

RK chains are garbage. get a DID X-ring chain, i believe X-rings have less friction than O-rings. Get Ironman sprockets, they will outlast the bike. I have a set on my WR400, I installed them when I got the bike a year ago, and they still look new.

yep.. i would go with renthals all around for racing. or iron man if your not on a budget. 0-ring and x-ring chains a quite a bit heavier than non o-ring chains, but if you want them to last for a long time go ahead with the x-ring chain and iron man sprockets.. youll never need any sprockets or chain again..lol

youll never need any sprockets or chain again..lol

Kind of what I'm looking for.

anyone know about sidewinder